Contact Us

    The curriculum
    2-3 year olds
     3-5 year olds

Our Teamawards

The Principles of the Early Years Foundation Stage:

From September 2012 the new version of the Early Years Foundation Stage from the Department of Education will provide extra guidance for the support of children’s development.

A unique child recognising that every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
Positive relations, recognising that children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with their parents and/or a key person.
Enabling environments, recognising that the environment in which children develop plays a key role in their supporting and extending their learning.
Learning and development, recognising that children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

The Early Years Foundation Stage further divides the aspects of children’s Learning and Development into seven areas:
  • The Prime Areas consist of:

    ·       Personal, Social and Emotional Development

    ·      Physical Development

    ·       Communication and Language

  • The Specific Areas cosist of:

    ·       Literacy

    ·      Mathematics – numeracy and problem solving

    ·      Understanding the World

    ·      Expressive Arts and Design


Download our offstead report